World Rugby admits referee made wrong call in Australia-Scotland game

NULL

World Rugby has admitted the controversial referee decision in the Australia-Scotland game was wrong. Referee Craig Joubert granted a late penalty in Sunday's game which resulted in Australia's 35-34 victory over Scotland. In a post-match review, the rugby world's official selection committee said Australia should have been granted a scrum rather than a penalty. "The selection committee confirms that Joubert applied World Rugby Law 11.7 penalising Scotland's Jon Welsh, who had played the ball following a knock-on by a team-mate, resulting in an offside," an official statement said. "On review of all available angles, it is clear that after the knock-on, the ball was touched by Australia's Nick Phipps and Law 11.3(c) states that a player can be put on-side by an opponent who intentionally plays the ball." But World Rugby clarified that "the referee could not refer to the television match official in this case and therefore had to rely on what he saw in real time."

More from Sports News

On Virgin Radio today

Trending on Virgin Radio

  • Talent Takeover

    For one morning only, you could host the UAE’s biggest radio show, The Kris Fade Show - live across the nation.

  • ARN News Centre

    Get the latest UAE and world news from our award winning team of journalists. The ARN News Centre is the country's most trusted source of information.

  • Middle East Hot 30

    Every weekend Kris Fade plays the biggest tracks in the Middle East. Check out this weeks chart...

  • The Kris Fade Show Podcast

    Not in the car so much while Kris, Priti and Rossi are on air? Check out the daily podcast here...