REVEALED: The 2017 BAFTA Nominations Are Here!

The 2017 BAFTA nominations have been announced in London!

La La Land – which broke a record for the most wins for a single film at the Globes – has landed 11 nominations.

The film has also earned Ryan Gosling his first ever BAFTA nod.

He’s up against Andrew Garfield, Casey Affleck, Jake Gyllenhaal and Viggo Mortensen. Here are all the nominations!

The BAFTAs will take place at London’s Royal Albert Hall on February 12th

Best film


I, Daniel Blake

La La Land 

Manchester by the Sea


Outstanding British film

American Honey 


Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them 

I, Daniel Blake 

Notes on Blindness 

Under the Shadow 


Damien Chazelle – La La Land 

Tom Ford – Nocturnal Animals

Ken Loach – I, Daniel Blake

Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea 

Denis Villeneuve – Arrival

Leading actress

Amy Adams – Arrival

Emily Blunt – The Girl on the Train

Natalie Portman – Jackie

Emma Stone – La La Land

Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins

Leading actor

Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea

Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge

Ryan Gosling – La La Land

Jake Gyllenhaal – Nocturnal Animals

Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic

Supporting actress

Viola Davis – Fences

Naomie Harris – Moonlight

Nicole Kidman – Lion

Hayley Squires – I, Daniel Blake

Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea

Supporting actor

Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water

Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins

Dev Patel – Lion

Aaron Taylor-Johnson – Nocturnal Animals

Original screenplay

Hell or High Water – Taylor Sheridan

I, Daniel Blake – Paul Laverty

La La Land – Damien Chazelle

Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan

Moonlight – Barry Jenkins

Adapted screenplay

Arrival – Eric Heisserer

Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Schenkkan, Andrew Knight

Hidden Figures – Theodore Melfi, Allison Schroeder 

Lion – Luke Davies

Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

The Girl with All the Gifts – Mike Carey (writer), Camille Gatin (producer) 

The Hard Stop – George Amponsah (writer/director/producer), Dionne Walker (writer/producer) 

Notes on Blindness – Peter Middleton (writer/director/producer), James Spinney (writer/director), Jo-Jo Ellison (producer) 

The Pass – John Donnelly (writer), Ben A William (director) 

Under the Shadow – Babak Anvari (writer/director), Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, Lucan Toh (producers) 

Film not in the English language

Dheepan – Jacques Audiard, Pascal Caucheteux

Julieta – Pedro Almodovar

Mustang – Deniz Gamze Erguven, Charles Gillibert

Son of Saul – Laszlo Nemes, Gabor Sipos

Toni Erdmann – Maren Ade, Janine Jackowski 


The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years

The Eagle Huntress

Notes on Blindness



Animated film 

Finding Dory

Kubo and the Two Strings



Original music

Arrival – Johann Johannsson

Jackie – Mica Levi

La La Land – Justin Hurwitz

Lion – Dustin O’Halloran, Hauschka

Nocturnal Animals – Abel Korzeniowski


Arrival – Bradford Young

Hell or High Water – Giles Nuttgens

La La Land – Linus Sandgren

Lion – Greig Fraser

Nocturnal Animals – Seamus McGarvey


Arrival – Joe Walker

Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert

La La Land – Tom Cross

Manchester by the Sea – Jennifer Lame

Nocturnal Animals – Joan Sobel

Production design

Doctor Strange – John Bush, Charles Wood

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock

Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh

La La Land – Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, David Wasco

Nocturnal Animals – Shane Valentino, Meg Everist

Costume design

Allied – Joanna Johnston

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood

Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle

Jackie – Madeline Fontaine

La La Land – Mary Zophres

Make-up and hair

Doctor Strange – Jeremy Woodhead

Florence Foster Jenkins – J Roy Helland, Daniel Phillips

Hacksaw Ridge – Shane Thomas

Nocturnal Animals – Donald Mowat, Yolanda Toussieng

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Nominees to be confirmed


Arrival – Claude La Haye, Bernard Gariepy Strobl, Sylvain Bellemare

Deepwater Horizon – Mike Prestwood Smith, Dror Mohar, Wylie Stateman, David Wyman

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Niv Adiri, Glenn Freemantle, Simon Hayes, Andy Nelson, Ian Tapp

Hacksaw Ridge – Peter Grace, Robert Mackenzie, Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright

La La Land – Mildred Iatrou Morgan, Ai-Ling Lee, Steve A Morrow, Andy Nelson

Special visual effects

Arrival – Louis Morin 

Doctor Strange – Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathan Fawkner

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Tim Burke, Pablo Grillo, Christian Manz, David Watkins

The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Neil Corbould, Hal Hickel, Mohen Leo, John Knoll, Nigel Sumner

British short animation

The Alan Dimension – Jac Clinch, Jonathan Harbottle, Millie Marsh

A Love Story – Khaled Gad, Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara, Elena Ruscombe-King 

Tough – Jennifer Zheng

British short film 

Consumed – Richard John Seymour

Home – Shpat Deda, Afolabi Kuti, Daniel Mulloy, Scott O’Donnell

Mouth of Hell – Bart Gavigan, Samir Mehanovic, Ailie Smith, Michael Wilson

The Party – Farah Abushwesha, Emmet Fleming, Andrea Harkin, Conor MacNeill

Standby – Charlotte Regan, Jack Hannon

EE Rising Star award (voted for by the public) 

Laia Costa

Lucas Hedges

Tom Holland

Ruth Negga

Anya Taylor-Joy


on air